Offended, much?

I love this quote, from a fellow BP-er:

‘It’s now very common to hear people say, “I’m rather offended by that”, as if that gives them certain rights. It’s no more than a whine. It has no meaning, it has no purpose, it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. “I’m offended by that.” Well, so fucking what?’ – Stephen Fry

I quote it here because I am writing on social media and on this blog and so, inevitably, I have received comments from people I have offended.

It is simply impossible to write anything or to give an opinion without offending *somebody*. That is human nature. We are not machines. I should not even need to state this, but feel that I do: there is a HUGE difference between being deliberately unkind and causing offence. I am never deliberately unkind because I am not a misanthrope. I may cause offence but that is impossible to avoid – unless you’re one of those people who think I should include the phrase ‘TRIGGER WARNING’ at the top of everything I write, in which case, go away.

cloud_cuckoo_land

Leave a Reply

